The Bafta Awards

The Bafta Awards, organized by the British Academy, celebrated its 2017 edition on Sunday. The acclaimed musical “La La Land,” which topped the list of nominees with 11 nominations, won five awards, including Best Picture, Best Actress, and best director.

The film, written and directed by American Damien Chazelle and tells the story of love and jazz between Mia (Emma Stone) and Sebastian (Ryan Gosling) in Los Angeles, imposed on “Moonlight” by Barry Jenkins, “Arrival” , Denis Villeneuve’s “I, Daniel Blake” by Ken Loach, and “Manchester by the Sea” by Kenneth Lonergan.

“La Land,” also made music and photography direction at a gala held at the Royal Albert Hall in London.

While the award for best actor went to Casey Affleck for “Manchester by the Sea” (“Manchester in front of the sea”), film that took two Bafta, the same number as “Lion.”

  1. Leading Actress:
  • Amy Adams – Arrival
  • Emily Blunt – The Girl on the Train
  • WINNER: Emma Stone – La La Land
  • Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins
  • Natalie Portman – Jackie
  1. Best film:
  • Arrival – Dan Levine, Shawn Levy, David Linde, Aaron Ryder
  • I, Daniel Blake – Rebecca O’Brien
  • WINNER: La La Land – Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, Marc Platt
  • Manchester By The Sea – Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Kimberly Steward, Kevin J. Walsh
  • Moonlight – Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Adele Romanski
  1. Director:
  • Arrival – Denis Villeneuve
  • I, Daniel Blake – Ken Loach
  • WINNER: La La Land – Damien Chazelle
  • Manchester By The Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
  • Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford
  1. Leading Actor:
  • Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge
  • WINNER: Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea
  • Jake Gyllenhaal – Nocturnal Animals
  • Ryan Gosling – La La Land
  • Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic
  1. Cinematography:
  • Arrival – Bradford Young
  • Hell Or High Water – Giles Nuttgens
  • WINNER: La La Land – Linus Sandgren
  • Lion – Greig Fraser
  • Nocturnal Animals – Seamus McGarvey
  1. Original Screenplay:
  • Hell Or High Water – Taylor Sheridan
  • I, Daniel Blake – Paul Laverty
  • La La Land – Damien Chazelle
  • WINNER: Manchester By The Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
  • Moonlight – Barry Jenkins
  1. Supporting Actor:
  • Aaron Taylor-Johnson – Nocturnal Animals
  • WINNER: Dev Patel – Lion
  • Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins
  • Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water
  • Mahershala Ali – Moonlight
  1. Oustanding debut by a British writer, director or producer:
  • The Girl With All the Gifts – Mike Carey (writer), Camille Gatin (producer)
  • The Hard Stop: George Amponsah (writer/director/producer), Dionne Walker (writer/producer)
  • Notes on Blindness: Peter Middleton (writer/director/producer), James Spinney (writer/director), Jo-Jo Ellison (producer)
  • The Pass: John Donnelly (writer), Ben A Williams (director)
  • WINNER: Under the Shadow: Babak Anvari (writer/director), Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill, Lucan Toh (producers)
  1. Special visual effects:
  • Arrival – Louis Morin
  • Doctor Strange – Richard Bluff, Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould, Jonathan Fawkner
  • Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Tim Burke, Pablo Grillo, Christian Manz, David Watkins
  • WINNER: The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars History – Neil Corbould, Hal Hickel, Mohen Leo, John Knoll, Nigel Sumner
  1. Animated Film:
  • Finding Dory – Andrew Stanton
  • WINNER: Kubo And The Two Strings – Travis Knight
  • Moana – Ron Clements, John Musker
  • Zootropolis – Byron Howard, Rich Moore
  1. Supporting Actress:
  • Hayley Squires – I, Daniel Blake
  • Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea
  • Naomie Harris – Moonlight
  • Nicole Kidman – Lion
  • WINNER: Viola Davis – Fences
  1. Adapted Screenplay:
  • Arrival – Eric Heisserer
  • Hacksaw Ridhe – Robert Schenkkan, Andrew Knight
  • Hidden Figures – Theodore Melfi, Allison Schroeder
  • WINNER: Lion – Luke Davies
  • Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford
  1. Film not in the English language:
  • Dheepan – Jacques Audiard, Pascal Caucheteux
  • Julieta – Pedro Almodovar
  • Mustang – Deniz Gamze Erguven, Charles Gillibert
  • WINNER: Son Of Saul – Laszlo Nemes, Gabor Sipos
  • Toni Erdmann – Maren Ade, Janine Jackowski
  1. Documentary:
  • WINNER: 13th – Ava DuVernay
  • The Beatles: Eight Days A Week – The Touring Years – Ron Howard
  • The Eagle Huntress – Otto Bell, Stacey Reiss
  • Notes on Blindness – Peter Middleton, James Spinney
  • Weiner – Josh Kriegman, Elyse Steinberg
  1. Production Design:
  • Doctor Strange – John Bush, Charles Wood
  • WINNER: Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock
  • Hail, Caesar! – Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh
  • La La Land – Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, David Wasco
  • Nocturnal Animals – Shane Valentino, Meg Everist
  1. Editing:
  • Arrival – Joe Walker
  • WINNER: Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert
  • La La Land – Tom Cross
  • Manchester By The Sea – Jennifer Lame
  • Nocturnal Animals – Joan Sobel
  1. British short film:
  • Consumed – Richard John Seymour
  • WINNER: Home – Shpat Deda, Afolabi Kuti, Daniel Mulloy, Scott O’Donnell
  • Mouth Of Hell – Bart Gavigan, Samir Mehanovic, Ailie Smith, Michael Wilson
  • The Party – Farah Abushwesha, Emmet Fleming, Andrea Harkin, Conor MacNeill
  • Standby – Charlotte Regan, Jack Hanno
  1. British short animation:
  • The Alan Dimension – Jac Clinch, Jonathan Harbottle, Millie Marsh
  • WINNER: A Love Story – Khaled Gad, Anushka Kishani Naanayakkara, Elena Ruscombe-King
  • Tough – Jennifer Zheng
  1. Sound:
  • WINNER: Arrival – Claude La Haye, Bernard Gariepy Strobl, Sylvain Bellemare
  • Deepwater Horizon – Mike Prestwood Smith, Dror Mohar, Wylie Stateman, David Wyman
  • Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Niv Adiri, Glenn Freemantle, Simon Hayes, Andy Nelson, Ian Tapp
  • Hacksaw Ridge – Peter Grace, Robert Mackenzie, Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright
  • La La Land – Mildred Iatrou Morgan, Ai-Ling Lee, Steve A. Morrow, Andy Nelson
  1. Costume Design:
  • Allied – Joanna Johnston
  • Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Colleen Atwood
  • Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle
  • WINNER: Jackie – Madeline Fontaine
  • La La Land – Mary Zophres
  1. Make up and hair:
  • Doctor Strange
  • WINNER: Florence Foster Jenkins
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • Nocturnal Animals
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars History
  • Meryl Streep as Florence Foster Jenkins
  1. Original Music:
  • Arrival – Johann Johannsson
  • Jackie – Mica Levi
  • WINNER: La La Land – Justin Hurwitz
  • Lion – Dustin O’Halloran, Hauschka
  • Nocturnal Animals – Abel Korzeniowski
  1. EE Rising Star award (voted for by the public):
  • Anya Taylor-Joy
  • Laia Costa
  • Lucas Hedges
  • Ruth Negga
  • WINNER: Tom Holland

What's Your Reaction?

Cry Cry
Cute Cute
Damn Damn
Dislike Dislike
Lol Lol
Like Like
Love Love
Win Win

The Bafta Awards

log in


reset password

Back to
log in

Choose post type

News Image List Poll Quiz Video Audio Gallery Playlist
Choose A Format
Personality quiz
Series of questions that intends to reveal something about the personality
Trivia quiz
Series of questions with right and wrong answers that intends to check knowledge
Voting to make decisions or determine opinions
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
The Classic Internet Listicles
Open List
Open List
Ranked List
Ranked List
Upload your own images to make custom memes
Youtube, Vimeo or Vine Embeds
Soundcloud or Mixcloud Embeds
Photo or GIF
GIF format